Why I teach

I have given up a long time ago the intention of “creating excellent musicians”. I have discovered that there are many ways through which music can help and enrich a child’s life and mind. This is my list.

  • I want my students to experience and practice discipline, disciplined behaviour, disciplined habits, so that later on in life, they will be able to set aside their moods and be able to focus and do what needs to be done.
  • I want my students to exercise the action of trying and failing multiple times until they get it right, so they learn this concept that no matter how hard something is, as long as you’re still trying, there is a chance to win, even after failing.
  • I want my students to understand that music is not easy and simply the fact that they’re studying it, makes them better, makes them stronger, makes them smarter.
  • I want my students to open their minds to music and art beyond what they hear and see daily, to enlarge their cultural universe. This way they’ll be able to discern art from kitsch, good musicians from dilettantes.
  • I want my students to easily and confidently join a singing group, whether it’s at school, whether it’s at church, at a concert or an impromptu burst of singing with friends.
  • I want my students to confidently and proudly sit at a piano in a hotel lobby and just play for the fun of it.
  • I want my students to be able to play all the holiday songs for the family and create an awesome habit that gathers the family around music.
  • I want my students to be used to playing before crowds in order to face their fears, again and again, until they learn to control it.
  • When my students meet other musicians, I want them to be proud that they can speak the same language and learn that it brings all kinds of people together.
  • I want my students to recognise, enjoy and appreciate good music and pass on this passion to their children and grandchildren.
  • I want my students to be educated, well-balanced, confident in their own powers, aware of their destiny in this world, to be kind people with integrity and character who also believe in miracles and sometimes make it happen.
3 thoughts on “Why I teach

Add yours

  1. Very inspiring! I wish my sons had a teacher like you. My three sons took piano lessons and the youngest switched to the saxophone. As you said, it taught them discipline and enriched their lives. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very nice and inspirational work! Keep going. Music is something which soothes and purifies our souls. May God bless you in your efforts. 🙂

    Have you ever felt hopeless or low when hindrances ran into your path? Go through my inspirational poem “I Can Reach High” at
    https://akashsingh2017.wordpress.com/2017/05/11/i-can-reach-high/
    It’s a poem of Hope, strength and a never ending spirit to live Life.
    Hope you will like it 🙂
    Do leave your feedback, as it’s precious.

    Liked by 1 person

Say something

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

