Teach More

When I was preparing to become a teacher, I thought for sure I was gonna be bad at it, because I didn’t know how I could possibly connect with kids, I don’t even know how to talk to them.

I had friends that would automatically change their voice and their behaviour when they were talking to children and I knew I’m not gonna do that. It sounded and looked ridiculous to me. Kids seemed to be fine with it so I thought that this is the only way to communicate with them. I’m gonna suck at teaching.

Stubborn as I am, I refused to change my ways or try anything new so I decided to talk to children as I would talk to adults. Sure, I had to explain a lot of words, but eventually we got there and kids seemed to understand and like my manner just fine. Some of them even understood my sarcasm. Fun times!

As I became attached to these children I began to care about their future and who they become and decided to always teach more than music.

Teaching discipline – as any musician can confirm, discipline is the constant decision to do what is right despite not feeling like it. You learn to reject your moods, reject your momentary lack of interest for that certain activity, you draw all your energy towards it and you do it. And the fruit of this action will be the inspiration my mind will use next time I’m facing this problem.

Teaching perseverance – to never give up. We don’t just rehearse, we don’t just repeat a passage, we observe, we improve, we discern our own failures and we learn how to be better and how to be better at getting better.

Teaching wisdom/discernment. As in the art of silently observing yourself and others in all situations, the art of gathering all of your knowledge and all of your experiences to properly react to a situation.

Teaching authenticity. In my own words “weird is the new cool”. Not in the sense that you’re not cool if you’re not weird, so get weird, but in the sense that all kids at one point or another start to compare themselves with other children and probably wonder why they are different in some ways. In the wrong setting, they could think there’s something wrong with them. So we should always show acceptance of who they are and celebrate their uniqueness and our own. You’ll want your child to choose as a role model a person who is happy with themselves.

Say something

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

