When do you let your child give up on piano lessons?

There are many reasons why a child would think about quitting piano lessons.

One of the reasons should be the difficulty.

One other reason could be the fact that his parents have allowed him to think that quitting is an option. Ever.

I am, myself, a very picky teacher. That’s not the best trait, I know, I should be available to work with ALL sorts of kids, but I’m not.ย 

I can work with a talented kid who’s a little lazy, but I won’t work with him/her if he/she’s rude. I’ve got 60 minutes and I just won’t spend them educating him/her.

I can work with an intelligent kid who isn’t that talented, but I won’t work with him/her if they’ve got disciplinary issues.

I will work with a slow learner or with the hyper active one, just as long as they keep a good attitude towards the piano class and me.ย 

So if the piano teacher doesn’t seem any close to quitting on your child, it means he can still learn, he can still grow and you shouldn’t encourage his lazy behind.

If indeed your lifestyle, schedule, financial situation, doesn’t help the growth in that direction and you’re considering investing and focusing in some other activity, make sure the message you send out to your child is not that it’s alright to quit something because it’s hard.

I may not possess the writing skills to express exactly the philosophy of it, but life is hard all around. Math is hard, history is hard, being bullied is hard, society is hard, there are no easy passes.

At one point the child must learn to find solutions for difficulties and power through, persevere, fight, try his best and own his victories. That’s what success is made of. That’s what happiness is made of.

11 thoughts on “When do you let your child give up on piano lessons?

Add yours

  1. I think it’s a fine line to walk between pushing a child to commit to something they no longer want to do, or just letting them give up. In our current society young people seem to expect things to come easy to them.

    It’s ideal if the motivation comes from within, but that doesn’t always happen; it may be years down the road before a young student really gets inspired. Some students need to be pushed, others need breathing space and to come to it in their own time (I was the latter and believe I ended up being a professional musician because my teacher let me get there when I was ready).

    I work with so many adult students that quit when they were children because they were disciplined too much which is ironic if the goal is for them to stick with it. Others say they wished they were pushed more. It takes a skilled and experienced teacher to know what approach fits best.

    Pardon the long-winded comment but this is a really interesting topic I find ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    1. You are so right! That is exactly what it is. Any way you take it, piano and music in general is not easy and whatever your rhythm is, you have to stick to it. Thank you! I love it when I find other teachers with similar views. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Say something

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

