Meditation

When I think of MEDITATION I think of FOCUS. For me, meditating isn’t as much about not thinking about anything as it is about focusing on one thing only.

Piano practice is a sort of meditation. I didn’t realise it until now. When we practice we can’t think about other problems, we can’t get distracted very easily, because the practice requires the brain’s attention so much, it is all we can do. So in a way we should encourage piano practice as a way of releasing the brain from other worries and have it meditate on songs.

Lately I realised that even teaching is a little bit like meditation. Of course, I am not completely myself when I’m teaching, I have to act a little and bring excitement where there is none, but the activity is so overwhelming, I can’t think of anything else while teaching. The moment I leave my classes I notice my brain getting back to it’s usual activity: who was I supposed to call today? what will I cook for dinner? what should I buy as a present? oh, no, I was supposed to pay the bills today! laundry.

That’s why I consider work is good. Keeping the mind busy with anything besides worries and, let’s be honest, even gossip :), is just good for us.

This also should be taught in school. Or in piano classes.

29 thoughts on “Meditation

Add yours

  1. Physical work is also a bit like meditation, because you are all in what you do, you’re focused on one thing. But that is just one side of meditation. When I meditate, I don’t wanna go to any empty space, I wanna see myself. I just let my thoughts run and observe them, until they naturally calm down and I see myself, the observer in me, or just to say simply, myself. You can also achieve that while working, or while facing new things, you just ‘notice yourself’. But meditation is the best way to achieve that. And also, you have visualisations as a type of meditation… In a way, that side of a meditation is similar to art, but also, it’s a bit different when you actually meditate.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The wife and I really love this blog and appreciate the creativity and useful information you provide. If you ever decide to take this blog to the next level by offering a Mobile App version my company Zenlight would love to help for an extremely low price, we appreciate the hard work you have put into this blog and wish you all future success in business and in life.

    Thank you for your time, it is the most precious thing we all possess.
    -Jacque’

    Liked by 1 person

  3. To get absorbed in any act be it teaching, music or in love is a state of spiritual blessedness. Most of us, often feel this state with our hobbies ,work or with our dear ones. For that particular moment we become conscious of our joy , the blessed state. On the contrary in our day to day life we are focused on things which create disharmony between our own being and the outside world. May be, knowing what is good for us is a knowledge in itself.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. To believe in God is a (type of) Religion and not to believe in God also seems to be another type of Religion. Piano Practice is not less than a Meditation Practice. Thanks a lot. I feel happy to read your story.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I agree with Bernadette’s comment above, your description sounds like a wonderful exercise in mindfulness. Some other words come to mind – purposefulness, deliberateness, and intention. Playing music is so great because it engages our creative brains in such a unique way. I think it helps us synthesize and process things that are going on in other aspects of our lives. I’m not very musical, but reading this post makes me want to dust off my flute and try to practice my rusty scales. It’s not the same thing at all, but one of the habits that I find can be very focusing and calming for me is washing the dishes. I know it sounds kind of silly, but there is something about standing at the sink, washing dishes, that has always helped me bring things into the present, helped me tune out other distractions, and release tensions when I’m upset. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Lulu!
      You are so lucky to find washing the dishes calming. I have a few other friends that find it calming. I can’t. My mind drifts at everything I have to do or have done already, thinking and rethinking everything, bad conversations, from time to time I realise my back hurts from standing over the sink, I always find ways to get wet and my hands are very dry after. I tried using gloves, but can’t trust them with the grip and they rip very easy…so I gave up.
      I wish I could change that. The washing of the dishes would be a very different activity if I could.
      I’m writing down the words you suggested. You nailed it! πŸ˜‰

      Like

  6. I agree with your concept of meditation as a matter of focus. This factor made my teaching pleasurable and most importantly gave me a feeling of control over my daily life. You heard of the Mozart Effect, correct?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I love that idea of teaching being a kind of meditation! I fully agree, when I am teaching, I am fully in that moment with nothing cluttering or clouding my brain. As I reflect, it’s something I wish I could transfer to other places in my life, that idea of being fully there without the distractions, both real and created.

    Thank you for putting what we do into a unique perspective! I appreciate that! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you also, it’s great to hear other people have the same experience. It just hit me when I said goodbye to my last student one day, my mind just started talking shortly after with everything in this world and I thought…wait, where was all of this while I was teaching. I can’t believe I managed my thoughts so well, without doing it on purpose. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Say something

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

