My Best Memories

When Christmas. My mom would cook so much, our small apartment was filled with yummy smells of my favourite meals. I’d sit at the open window between the steaming kitchen and the frozen wind looking at the dark pink sky. It was pink. It was snowing and it was pink. I had my little phone toy and I’d talk to Santa on it. So today anything from coffee to mulled wine to garlic to cold air takes me to Christmas.

We used to live across the street from the busiest hill in wintertime. I miss that view. As we were approaching the big snow covered hill, we would DIE in anticipation that we were gonna slide and scream like all the other 50 kids on it. It was soooo good. I miss sleighs. Do you remember the sound it makes when it slides on the snow? We would stay on the hill even after it got dark and we were so hooked that we would eat snow when we were thirsty just so we didn’t have to leave all the fun for a sip of water. I would get home all sweaty from running up and down, but also frozen, couldn’t feel my toes. I’d hop my butt on the radiator and stick my feet in cold water and I just melted. THE BEST!

Later on we discovered carolling. Put together 2 to 10 kids from the music school and send them carolling and you’ve got yourself a party. Musicians are just the best crowd to be around.

If there are any other Christmas freaks out there, I’d love to hear your memories.

P.S. I am humming 12 Days of Christmas as I’m writing this…

13 thoughts on “My Best Memories

Add yours

  1. This is so lovely! Christmas is no doubts the best time of the year! Cooking, baking, making chocolates and other treats, the snow, the sweet and almost spicy smell of the Christmas tree and all its glory… All Christmas memories are good memories to me! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It definitely is the best time, but I am totally addicted to snow :D. If there’s no snow or if it’s not at least freezing cold…my Christmas is a little dull. Hoping for a white Christmas this year. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, I agree! There’s something particularly magical about snow on Christmas. Unfortunately, I won’t be getting a white one this year (Australia is a liiitle bit too hot, haha), but hopefully next year! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. It is 95F (35C) today at my parents’ house, where I am visiting, and they live in New England (the northeastern US), so no air conditioning. It is definitely not Christmassy out, but reading your post reminds me of my own winter memories. My parents’ house sits on top of the only hill on the street, and this is where all the kids gathered to sled in the winter. I do remember staying out way beyond dark, until I was soaked and freezing. I am amazed at my tolerance for the cold back then! We dug snow forts and made snow men and threw snowballs at each other, and we sucked on icicles. It always took a long time to hang all the decorations for Christmas, because there were so many of them, but when they were all up, it was beautiful, and our tree was stunning. Thanks for bringing back some very fond memories! Hope you have a beautiful weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for sharing, Lulu! Our winters sound very similar! πŸ™‚ Here also it’s around 30C right now, I just don’t know…some sort of nostalgia came over me. I love those memories and sometimes I wonder if I’ll be able to create a similarly beautiful life to reminisce on later on… We’ll see. πŸ™‚ Have a great weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. One day at a time, one thing at a time, and hopefully, you’ll find that you are creating more beautiful memories along the way. That’s what I keep telling myself, at least. Christmas will be here soon! The craft stores are already stocked with all sorts of Christmas supplies and decorations! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I am decidedly not a Christmas freak, but my mum is. I can remember going into Christmas shops all year long and she would stand for hours looking at the different ornaments and accoutrements for the holidays. She would cook for weeks in order to get ready. The woman buys Christmas presents in May.

    Liked by 1 person

Say something

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

