Be Humane

I’ve been living in rented apartments since 2005. Up until now I’ve lived in 5 different places with very different apartment owners. Still there is one family, apartment owners, I will never forget. Today’s post in MY PEOPLE features them.

They decided to sell the apartment that I was living in, but they didn’t kick me out, they just moved me to a different apartment they had just bought in the building they were living in. And when I say they moved me, they actually moved me. You cannot imagine how many things I have to take with me every time I move, it actually required a truck to load everything and they did all the carrying, in and out of the elevators, in and out of the truck.

They spent a whole night repainting my bedroom so it will be fresh when I move in the next day and they immediately changed the door locks so I can sleep in peace.Β a63c38faab31b96e11b1580b89692109

They invited me to dinner knowing that I didn’t have the time to buy anything for the new apartment and always made sure that I was comfortable.

I am good tenant, generally speaking, quite honest, I take care of the house as if it’s my own, I try to always pay the rent and all the other costs in time, but if I ever had Β trouble and couldn’t pay right away, they trusted me and waited until I had the money, never pressuring me.

And when something broke and needed to be replaced or fixed, they would never keep us waiting, they would get on it right away; and it wasn’t because the contract said so…it was because that’s the kind of people they are.

I wasn’t the only tenant they ever had. They’ve been lending apartments for many years and they had all sorts of unpleasant situations with difficult people that maybe didn’t take good care of the apartment or left in the middle of the night leaving them with loads of debts they had to pay…and so on. But they never changed. They never let the fear change them. They approached every new tenant with joy and openness, giving each of us the benefit of the doubt.

So the lesson here is to never let yourself be changed for the worst by your experiences. Stay rooted in love, let go of grudges and regrets. Life is not perfect, people are not perfect, there will always be something to piss you off…let them go and keep on being humane, no matter what.

19 thoughts on “Be Humane

Add yours

  1. Beautiful and wise, wise advice!!! This is such a touching tribute to these people who made such a difference in your life and in your heart. I love the quote by Mother Teresa. It is so hard to live up to, but I am trying anyway! That is the bizarre, perplexing, and wonderful paradox of love, kindness, gentleness, and humility. There is a perfect model we are all called to aspire to as human beings, yet as imperfect human beings, we can never achieve it. So we love anyway, and we forgive always. And when we don’t get it right we love each other and ourselves and forgive our mistakes. Thanks for this heartfelt reminder!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, I started reflecting on these people, because since I moved to the capital, I meet fewer and fewer like that. And I felt like I was being hardened by this life and it didn’t seem right…I thought “I know better than this”. I have to keep on keeping on even if everyone around me gives up. But it’s not all bad, you just have to look for the good on purpose…it’s there. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. That was very sweet of them to do that. Acts of kindness are guaranteed to make you smile and can even be contagious at times. The world could definitely use more of that

    Liked by 1 person

          1. You’re welcome! I didn’t know how common it was there but as a kid I’d imagine you didn’t like that much. I was somewhat the same but only because some family members didn’t like that it was Arabic. I now love my name.

            Liked by 1 person

  3. “So the lesson here is to never let yourself be changed for the worst by your experiences. Stay rooted in love, let go of grudges and regrets. Life is not perfect, people are not perfect, there will always be something to piss you off…let them go and keep on being humane, no matter what….” well said …I lent out apartments and I had such experiences with my tenants , but same here there was this one family .. who took care of my apartment like it was their own .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can imagine it can be very hard to entrust something you own to complete strangers and to it can be such a relief to find good people. πŸ˜€ Thank you so much for the appreciation!

      Liked by 1 person

Say something

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

