ON THE EDGE

Am I supposed to feel anything else besides excitement for turning 30?

It’s just a round number, I wish I could afford to celebrate this day with ALL my friends. To bring all the people I love in one place and just appreciate them for being a part of my life and a part of myself.

I’ve got two categories of friends. The ones who met me after going to college, when I was turning AWESOME and the ones who’ve known me for, what seems like a lifetime…before I was awesome. But in both categories I’ve got priceless people, because I’m very picky and I only choose the best. And I chose well. They all know me through my best and my worst…and they still like me and love me…sarcasm and all.96d2c519a48aa3a87f3b900fd51406af.jpg

Some of my friends don’t like turning 30. I like it. 29 was weird, but 30…30 is COOL! I’m not the wondering teenager anymore, I’m not even the clueless student and I’m definitely not the beginner teacher. I can’t wait for people to finally see me as an adult, even if deep down I’m just the same crazy 24 year-old pinching her girlfriends’ butts when they least expect it. Yeah I do that, they don’t like it. I love it!

So I read all sorts of articles about turning 30 just to see what’s out there…what’s happening. Long story short, through all the lists of awesome things at 30, it all comes down to one simple thing: YOU KNOW WHAT YOU WANT. Or at least you’re starting to see what’s important, what’s not, what to let go, who to let go, prioritise and, why not, to find yourself.

That’s exactly what’s been happening to me. Someday you just have to ask yourself: who am I and how do I get there?Β and to decide that you’re not going to spend another day being led by your emotions or thoughts and letting them design your life. No way, dude! Right now my most valuable possession seems to be my time. I’m deciding to look at my time as an investment and I simply refuse to give my time to people and situations that waste it.

So I’m on the edge, on the edge of turning 30. Looking back on myself. What a view! πŸ™‚


My next feature on this blog, to celebrate this event, will be writing about awesome people that I want to celebrate and learn from; and my hope is that you’ll be able to share similar stories or just be inspired to look at life and our purpose here in a different way.

I’d love to hear your stories about turning 30 or even your fears and hopes, if you’re younger. Other than that, have a great weekend, enjoy the Sun!

23 thoughts on “ON THE EDGE

Add yours

  1. When I was heading closer to my 30th, people would ask..so am I having a ‘depression party! ‘ I kid you not….I was shocked, as apparently so many people felt ‘depressed’ as they were getting older.I thought that was an absolute hoot ! I embraced my 30th, it was awesome, and honestly did not feel any older.
    Happy Birthday, have a great 30th and everyday thereafter ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Age is just a number, anyway, so I’ve never understood why people freak out for turning 25, 30, 40, etc. You have a great oulook on turning 30. I’m sure the best is yet to come for you, so just enjoy the ride! πŸ™‚ And Hapy Birthday!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, starting to gain weight has begun 3 years ago for me and I just realised that from now on I’ll have to make an effort to be fit…that’s just it. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy birthday! My girlfriend and I were catching up over drinks one night and talked about how, if we’re going to be frozen it would be at 40. I can only speak to my 30’s as I’m still in them, but I have more I to my own this last decade than my previous years combined. 30’s a the greatest, and most challenging so far. You’ll Rick them, I have no doubt!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Although, I still FEEL like I’m a teenager sometimes, the older I get the better I like me. I’ve done a lot of work on myself and I am reaping the benefits and it makes me happy. 20 felt like a lot of paddling around the deep end of the pool and not really getting anywhere or knowing myself. So 30 was a RELIEF! 30 was the beginning of wanting to make ME the best version of myself. 40 was the continued homework and now just past 50 I feel like I FINALLY know what I want to be when I grow up and that feels beautiful and amazing. I’m still the same girl only now, stronger, more resiliiant, more empathetic towards the world. I have less fear for the NEW and more acceptance of life. It’s a fabulous place to be and I wouldn’t trade a moment.

    I’m so happy you feel good about turning 30 Ioana! You’re going to be amazing because you ARE amazing. Celebrate your year, your life, yourself and the beauty that surrounds you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, such an amazing thought, to just be happy with yourself and be at peace with everything and everyone else…I’ve got so much to look forward to. Thank you so much! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I totally get it! Up until now I thought I knew everything there is to know. Now I’m realising, I’m just waking up to a new reality. And I have to do something about it, I feel like I’m a part of this reality and in order to have a good effect on it, I must improve myself…it’s all so wonderful. πŸ™‚

          Liked by 1 person

          1. YES! You DO get it. There are times when I feel so frustrated with the world and then I read things like what you’ve written and I KNOW that there is MUCH to be thankful in our world and that as human beings we have to care for one another and be kind.

            Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi Ioana πŸ™‚
    I guess when you enter in your 20s you feel like an adventure and there is so much time to do so many things. 10 years later you turn 30 and you find yourself questioning your decisions and thinking if there is still time to do everything… At least I felt a bit like that last year when I turned 30. Then I realized age is just a number and stopped worrying so much. This year I was much more relaxed about turning 31! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, that’s probably why some people freak out about turning 30, but I decided early on that I shouldn’t stress about that sort of thing…like “Oh, no! I’m 30 and I still don’t own a house!” πŸ˜€ I’ll probably be 50 and still won’t own a house…I’m ok with that and with anything really. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. You didnt Say when your birthday is so congratulations for the day I personally loved my thirties if I could be 35/37 for the rest of my Life I would be one happy bunny ! I am happy now each stage has positive points so dont worry about that… But You are right in your thirties the world is yours, You are 100% woman confidente about yourself and where You want to go! And right again time is of the essence, so get out there and have the time of your Life !!! Happy Birthday my friend xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Brooke! ❀ My birthday will be on the 25th this month, I don't know what I'll be doing, if I'll post about it or not, but wanted to just reflect on what this means to me. Not everyone is as excited as I am, for some reason. I've had wrinkles since I was 20 because I laugh excessively, so I've gotten used to the idea of getting old early on :D. I'm just glad to join this club with awesome people who've probably had the same revelations as me…so I'm enjoying it. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

Say something

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

