Be Good – Do Good

Kindness Challenge – Reflection Week 7

The Kindness Challenge. What a ride! I can’t believe it’s been 7 weeks already. Somehow it doesn’t feel enough. Not for me anyway. My mind is all over right now so I thought it would be best to organise my thoughts with Niki’s questions while reflecting on these 7 weeks.

How do you feel after focusing your thoughts on kindness for 7 weeks? First of all, I learned so much about focus and thoughts. It’s been really helpful for all the aspects of my life. After focusing on kindness I see there is more kindness than I initially thought there was. Outside and inside.

Did you consider yourself kind before the challenge? I did. I realise now I was filtering my kindness to whoever I thought deserved it. It was a well-thought-out system of judging and labelling and of sharing whatever I thought everyone deserved. I care a lot about justice…

If you didn’t focus on kindness before, did that necessarily make you unkind? It didn’t really, because I couldn’t really be unkind to everyone around me, but I was unkind in my mind. In my mind I assigned all sorts of  and ruled all sorts of punishments. Is this getting creepy yet?

Did you discover you’re more kind than you realized? I discovered I used to be kinder once and somewhere along the way, I decided not to be anymore except with my friends. It was a sad discovery and I’m slowly trying to crawl back and even higher.

Did you find ways to increase your kindness? After I ask myself what can I do different to show kindness right now, I just breathe and let go of the judgement, let go of the “punishment” and just get on with my day.

Do you feel different? I feel calmer, I was very much on edge before and very impulsive, I reacted to everything and anything. I am now more aware of what mindlessly reactions do and just acknowledge the moment and treat it as it is…just a moment.

Did you see things that you might have otherwise missed? Yes, definitely. I was a little blind to people’s kindness, I took that for granted, as if everyone owes me kindness.

Did you enjoy it? So, so much! I am so grateful for this opportunity. Even though I forgot about kindness for a while, my life has always been about improving myself and making a difference in the world and I am so happy that I got this wake-up call before it was too late. I enjoyed so much learning from everyone else’s experiences and actually just seeing everyone so driven by kindness…it was all so inspiring. And I even started looking at myself differently…don’t know if that makes any sense.

Will you continue to practice living a kind life? Yes, of course. A kind life is a happy life.

Has it become a habit or part of your lifestyle? It’s a lifestyle with sprinkles of habits: gratitude habits, smiling habits, helping habits and assuming everyone is doing their best habits.

Have people noticed a change in you? Maybe, the closest people.

Will you participate again next year? I would LOVE that! ❤ You know me…anything to boast about my achievements. 😉

v

10 thoughts on “Be Good – Do Good

Add yours

  1. Wonderful reflections Iona, and same again next year. That will be a good exercise in seeing if you approach it the same or with a different mindset. I think it will be good to see how participants change their approach to things after twelve months.

    Thanks for sharing 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Gary! I hope I can keep the good work I’ve done so far, I’m sure next year, even if we do the same exact challenge, it will be on a different level of understanding. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s what I think will make it fascinating. Putting everything into practice for a year and then using that next time as a reflection part in a new post…before and after type of thing. Be nice to see how others I follow do that too.😊

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you SOOOOOO much for participating! I really enjoyed reading this as much as all of your other reflection posts. I love your honesty and transparency. You are so funny and light hearted! I’m so glad this has become a lifestyle for you and you’ve incorporated some wonderful habits along with it. I can’t wait to see how you continue to grow and develop between now and this time next year when we do this again. Thanks again for joining this journey!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Niki! You’ve been a great leader throughout this challenge, trusting the process, trusting us with your project, involving us and giving us freedom to make it our own and supporting us, what seemed like effortlessly, along the way. You know I’ve learned a lot, you know I took this seriously and you know it made a change in me. That’s probably the highest impact one can have on another at distance. You are a good friend! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you. I’m glad you feel that way. I really did want to respect the process and let it take everyone in their own direction. Thank you so much for your kind words! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

Say something

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

