VISION

Kindness Challenge – Reflection Week 6

Thinking back on the people who inspire me, I had to stop and reflect on the people who helped me the most, the people to whom I am grateful. I made a short list of the things they did for me that I appreciated and admired and there are quite a few people on this list. I thought I’m already almost 30 and I’ve had the blessed opportunity to have so many contributors in my life…this can’t go unnoticed. So I decided to create a Kindness Tree with all the people who have shown me kindness in a significant way. I thought this should be printed and framed and put in a special place as a reminder of how many people laid a foundation in me through kindness…and how much it took for me to realise it. πŸ˜€

All these people have morally and materiallyΒ supported me one way or another without speaking or showing judgement. I bet they had plenty of opportunities to judge me, but they restrained from showing it. That was so kind of them. Reflecting on this, on why I admire them, on what I appreciated the most, I realised what it actually was that is an inspiration to me:

The ability to see someone as they could be, as their best version, and treating them as if they are already there.

Whether they intended to do this or not, this is how I see it now. And this is an item I could improve on myself. My discernment usually leads me to see the worst version of a person and expect the worst from them, so I keep my kindness to myself so I don’t “waste it”.

On a different tree I’ll have to place boxes with the names of all the parents of my students who trusted me, believed in my abilities and invested in my development as a teacher. Now how awesome is this? How many teachers in Romania can say this about parents?

I’m inserting a version of my Kindness Tree without the names fo the people, just as an example. The pink boxes are family/mentors and the blue boxes are the best friends – the ones that are still the best even if you haven’t seen them or spoken to them in years…we’re still there. And I’ll keep adding boxes in the tree.

Untitled copy

 

27 thoughts on “VISION

Add yours

  1. Oh my gosh Ioana!!! What a great idea!! I absolutely love it!!! I love everything about this post! What a beautiful and great reminder of all of the wonderful people that have touched your life with kindness in some way or another. What an amazing post! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful post. I love your statement about your inspiration for choosing people to be part of your tree: “The ability to see someone as they could be, as their best version, and treating them as if they are already there.”
    It has inspired me to cultivate that ability. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I figured it’s not about all the little things they did…though it is about that too :), it’s about their motivation, the root of their actions, that’s what I need, that’s what makes the difference. Thank you! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I like the tree metaphor. Your circle of kindness individuals grows every day. Personally I would have a hard time mixing friends and family on the same tree.

    Like

    1. I also thought that for a moment, but to be honest I put my mom and my dad only as an honorary gesture. I don’t want to go into detail because it doesn’t matter right now, but there are so many people on that tree that have shown more kindness…sadly. πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. “All these people have morally and materially supported me one way or another without speaking or showing judgement. I bet they had plenty of opportunities to judge me, but they restrained from showing it.”
    These sentences really stood out to me. So often people criticize because they want to “help”. But 99% of the time judging and criticism is not helpful. I am trying to learn to support and encourage my children. Constructive criticism is like a seasoning. Just a little goes a long way. Too much and the dish is ruined. Most criticism/judgment is destructive.
    Thanks for getting me thinking today.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. πŸ˜€ That’s exactly what I used to do with my friends, I figured if I know better then I must have this gift to correct them and show them what they’re doing wrong all the time…and they just kept quiet. They never put a mirror in front of me…

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Great idea, indeed. May be everyone should have a full size kindness/gratitude tree on their bedroom wall and spend five mins going though that before sleeping.
    I like the way you have mentioned family members as root and trunk and friends and others as branches.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! A full size gratitude tree…that would be awesome!!! Maybe when I won’t be staying in a rented apartment…that would be great…it will go in the prayer room. I figure if I’ll have a house one day, I gotta have a prayer room. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Say something

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

