GRACE

KINDNESS CHALLENGE – Week 5 Reflection

My name means God is full of Grace. If you believe in the power of words, in the power of sounds, your name can draw your destiny. My name does.

Grace was once explained to me in a very simple way:

  • Justice is when you make a mistake and the judge gives you the punishment you deserve

  • Mercy is when you make a mistake and the judge doesn’t give you the punishment you deserve, he forgives your mistake.

  • Grace is when you make a mistake, the judge forgives your mistake and doesn’t punish you as you’d deserve and gives you a present also.

    Warren Groves

This is how my life has been. Not necessarily a continuous series of mistakes, but a continuous series of presents that I didn’t earn in any way.

Week 5 in the Kindness Challenge was about gratitude and it’s importance. The importance of stepping back and observing all the things that you can be grateful for, all the people that helped you be who you are and how to be content with the present moment.

But literally everything I’ve lived was a gift for me. I am grateful for everything. Constantly. The list is so big I’ll have to make a different post about them. Of course, writing them down or just taking the time to be thankful daily can make such a difference in your day and in your focus. Such an effective exercise – to give your mind the habit of reaching for gratitude instead of complaining and disappointment. You gotta try it yourself.

I also have to mention there’s another thing I realised last week. Among all the videos Niki shared, there were some interesting points made on mindfulness and I went back to Shawn Achor’s theory on The Happiness Advantage and it just put everything in a different light. So much so that I am seriously considering readapting some of my teaching methods. If you haven’t seen it yet, take a look, if nothing else, you’ll have a good laugh, the guy is hilarious.

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “GRACE

Add yours

  1. Beautiful post Ioana, and what a blessing to have a name with such a beautiful meaning. I have been a Christian for a long time, but I am just starting to fully comprehend grace. Sometimes, we are so stuck in the past and in false ways of viewing ourselves and others, that we get so caught up in works and worthiness that we miss the light of grace. It has always been their shining, and I have been living under the covering of God’s grace, but just been blind to the magnitude of it. I don’t have time to watch the video right now, but hope to get to it later this evening!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a wonderful post! I am familiar with this video, but I really needed to see it again. Thanks for posting it, and for encouraging me to be grateful and to appreciate all the graces all around me.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ioana, from the beginning you said that you were hoping for great things with this challenge. I’m so ecstatic for the little bit that I get to see how this has impacted you. Each week you really take the focus to heart, and this week is no exception. I loved this video when you recommended it to me! Your students are so lucky to have a teacher that is so invested. Thank you so much for joining me in this journey, I can’t wait to see where you go from here ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank YOU, Niki! This is so much more than just a “blogging challenge”. And it’s exactly what I needed in this transition period, from the job I quit from to the job I’ll have in the fall. I needed a readjustment in my thoughts, in my attitude, in my expectations, because my vision was to “get better” personally and professionally. If you are stuck on the past, on hurts and on mistakes, that can keep you away from your future blessings and if the whole point of beginning a blog was to join this challenge, it was all worth it. I can honestly say my mind is starting to separate from what has past and move on. What a change…what a relief… πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Oh my gosh, I’m so happy for you! The timing worked out perfectly and you were open to receiving the prompts and applying them. What a great adventure! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Say something

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

