Dare to be Kind!

Kindness Challenge – Week 3 Reflection

This week was a good week. I set a few practical goals for myself and I managed to reach them daily. This is a great exercise…and life feels different when you’re kind. Life is different when you focus on finding the kindness and on giving it. Something shifts. I have to say, I realised something this week. It feels like I’m winning back a lost side of me. That side of me that greets everyone with a smile, that side of me that cares. Sometimes it’s as simple as putting yourself in the other’s shoes.

So, as Jesus put it: “if you love [only] those who love you, what reward do you expect?” Matthew 5.46.

  • I started greeting the security guards in the stores. It’s a pleasant surprise for them to be acknowledged as humans who are not invisible and they say hello back.Β 
  • I started to meet the eyes of the cashiers at the groceries store when I say thank you,Β just to make that human connection.
  • I started a conversation with a small book store owner, being the only costumer, and praised her merchandise, the quality and the very good prices and I encouraged her, because apparently the business isn’t going that well and the rent is very high. I’ve been wanting to talk to her for a while now…the store is almost always empty when I go in.

I also want to journal the kindness that has been shown to me this week. If it weren’t for this challenge, I could easily forget these kind acts.

  • At the beginning of this week, I was recommended as a piano teacher by a mother…behind my back πŸ™‚ and now I have two new students.Β 633af650d6731ec80bd38d93ddc4c052
  • While waiting in a long line in a bank, a bank clerk, the one with the private office, invites me out of the line into her office to help me with my issue, which was closing an account…that almost never happens. What could’ve been 30 minutes in a line, turned out to be just 3 minutes on a chair. How awesome is that…in Bucharest?
  • I was offered a lift with the car by a mother who knew I had to get to my next piano class in a hurry.
  • Another mother has made a very, very generous invitation for me to spend a weekend at the sea side, where she has an apartment, just because she knows I’ve never been to the sea side and she thinks it’s ridiculous. I’d usually politely turn her down and wait until I’m retired to visit the sea, but it’s like the third time she’s invited me and I really want to see the sea. Even if the beach is not clean and there’s garbage everywhere…I don’t care. πŸ˜€
Before I end this reflection I just want to send you to an article I found this week about how kind words can change everything for someone:Β To the Lady at the Pool Who Spoke Up During One of My Lowest Parenting Moments

 

25 thoughts on “Dare to be Kind!

Add yours

  1. Ioana, this is such an inspiring post. Thank you for sharing. A little kindness really does go a long way, and it just has a way of reflecting back at the giver. Truly beautiful. Can’t wait to see your sea side pic’s when you go πŸ™‚ Have a lovely day. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Lynne! πŸ™‚ I’m so glad you found it inspiring, summer holiday is not coming soon enough, I can’t wait to see the sea! πŸ˜€

      Like

  2. Oh this is so beautiful! I love your focus on loving everyone through kindness. It really speaks to me. πŸ™‚ It reminds me of the Mother Teresa quote, something like “there are no great acts, only small acts done in great love.” Have a wonderful weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Definitely! How could I even achieve the great acts if I can’t go through it with the smallest…And it’s the smallest things that make people happy :). Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The smiles, the kind gestures, it is amazing, but sometimes we forget how they can impact another person. It makes me wonder…how many kind words or smiles…let alone single gestures of kindness save lives on a daily basis? This was simply beautiful! Thank you for sharing your insight and your week with us.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Oh my gosh Ioana!! This touched my heart!!! I’m so happy to read about your week! Look how many people you connected with if even for a moment by just smiling at them, looking at them and acknowledging them. I love how you are reflecting on something that you lost a little along the way. So glad you’re digging deep with this and it’s impacting you in such a profound way. This made my day! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This made my week and it’s about to change something in me. Thank you for this tiny and simple idea that you brought to us…to be kind…everything changes. And I always say I’m awesome, but I’m even more awesome when I’m kind. πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m so happy to hear that! This shows me that going with a 7 week challenge was worth it because it gives you time to practice and for the challenge to make a real impact and difference in your life. You are awesome and kindness is a great fuel to make your awesomeness even greater! ❀

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Beautiful post, Ioana! I love your ability to find kindness in the little micromoments of connection that you mentioned. Over the last year, I have found that when I reflect on these moments at the end of the day, I start to remember more and more little conversations, gentle words, polite gestures… It is a wonderful way to end my day and can turn a feeling of exhaustion and defeat into something much more wholehearted! I don’t always take the time to do it, though, and I can tell the difference in my mood and my outlook on the world when I don’t. I have to work in order to stay connected to that part of my soul that makes me feel truly myself.

    I love this post, and all your reflections. They speak of hope and generosity of heart and spirit. The passage from Romans is one of my favorites. Wishing you a wonderful day. I hope that you are soon discovering more beauty and kindness by the sea!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Lulu! I appreciate your kind words and I can confirm your observations. Ignoring the kindness around us will add to our daily burden. This challenge was just what I needed. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

Say something

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

