Observing Kindness Around Me – Reflection

We’re ending the 2nd week of the Kindness Challenge. This week we were supposed to look for kindness in your family and friends, in acquaintances or strangers. HEAVY DUTY!

As if I am not critical enough without any external help…I was watching the people around me, acquaintances or strangers, receive opportunities to be kind and they didn’t take them. They weren’t necessarily unkind, they just ignored the opportunity. It’s like some people, here, have the Kindness Alert Button turned OFF. 972552ca673de9338e1716a58314512f

So I figured, if I have to report some kindness at the end of the week, I’ll be the kindness around me. I’ll hold the elevator door for someone with luggage, I’ll smile and greet the neighbours, I’ll stop complaining about my usuals and I’ll do everything with joy.

To be fair, today a man took the time to explain to me in detail how to get to a point I needed that was quite far away, and while some of you might think this is common sense, it’s not. Sometimes, in Bucharest, people give you false directions just for the fun of it.

But no worries, I’ve got more than my daily recommended dose of kindness provided in the comfort of my home. 😀

If you haven’t read it yet, take a look at last week’s reflection on self-kindness: Be Kind to Yourself in 6 Ways.

If you need encouragement, please read Nicky’s inspirational message in her post: You Are Amazing!

Have a lovely weekend everyone! Share kindness!

12 thoughts on “Observing Kindness Around Me – Reflection

Add yours

    1. Thanks, Deborah! 🙂 Yes, indeed. For me, it’s particularly hard to be the first one to show kindness, because I tend to be critical and harsh, but this is good exercise. I need this. 😉

      Like

    1. Oh, that’s nice! 🙂 Kindness from strangers is the best. Your family and your friends have to be kind, or should be kind because of the relationship that you share, but when strangers make an effort to be kind, that’s special.

      Like

  1. Kindness — like love — often shows up when you least expect it.

    I had to laugh about giving directions in Bucharest, but when I shared that with my son, he said, “So Bucharest is where all the cool people live!” I shudder to think what he might tell the next person who asks for directions.

    Liked by 1 person

Say something

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

