Be Kind to Yourself in 6 Ways

Being kind to myself comes really easy to me. It’s all I do. I don’t know how it all started but I have noticed the things I do different.

  1. DON’T BELIEVE THE LIES. Ever since I was little I was told I was stupid and won’t be able to do anything good with my life. Every day. But I managed to always be rational. Wait a minute…I’m not stupid. I just kept giving myself examples of smart decisions and smart moments and I reminded myself I’ll learn everything else on the way too. Wait a minute…the outcome of my life is not depending on someone’s words, how would they know what I’ll do in the future? I can do and be whatever I want in my future and they can’t decide it for me.Β 
  2. TRUST GOD. I have never been tied to things and having things. I never had anything. I was lucky to afford buying clothes once I started working and pay my rent and cover my expenses, but that’s it. And sometimes I couldn’t afford. Deciding to leave all my worries to God is eventually an act of kindness towards myself, otherwise I’d be tortured by the thoughts.
  3. LEAVE THE DISHES, ENJOY THE WINE. ‘Nuf said.47786d6f5569b53096b161a4d12baf75
  4. ENJOY LIFE. Sometimes it’s not about calories and cholesterol or about staying at work late to finish everything perfectly or about consuming all your energy and time on people who don’t deserve or appreciate you. Sometimes it’s about doing what you love. Eat the chocolate, forget about work, distance yourself from the people who suck the joy out of you and devote yourself to those who really make you happy. Life is short.
  5. FORGIVE YOURSELF. Even if you’re not stupid, you’ll make stupid bad decisions sometimes. Express regret, learn your lesson, Β let go of your mistakes and improve yourself. In that order. While at it, forgive everyone else too. You deserve better than allowing bitterness to eat your soul.
  6. LAUGH. Laugh at yourself, laugh at your mistakes, loosen up, help the people around you laugh and redirect your attention and everyone else’s towards the good, the happy and the funny. The best way to live is JOYFULLY.

c6b478af4dd9be235a3db465779b8153

Join the Kindness Challenge!

40 thoughts on “Be Kind to Yourself in 6 Ways

Add yours

  1. So much great stuff here. I love all of it, but especially 2 and 4. When we trust God I think it help’s us to let go and enjoy life. We can remember that He is in charge of all our days. Of course we need to be good stewards, but we don’t need to stress over every little thing. Take time to actually live and enjoy this gift of life we have been given:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You had me with #1!! That shows what a strong, smart and kind person that you are! That says so much for you to have been able to use that level of reasoning at such a young age! I grew up that way too and eventually started believing it, I thought why else would I be told that so much if it weren’t true?

    Thank you for sharing all of those great reasons that being kind to yourself comes so easily to you in spite of the reasons one might think it wouldn’t come easy! I love where this journey is going and it’s just beginning!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Niki! This means a lot. And I enjoyed reading everyone’s stories, this challenge is shaping up to be an awesome initiative. Congratulations and thanks for bringing this up. Finally something worthy of our attention: kindness in all it’s forms! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My pleasure! It’s been such a pleasure reading everyone’s experience of the week and getting to know another side of them. I’m already seeing benefits I hadn’t considered and it’s just the first week. Can’t wait to see what’s in store ahead πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  3. We might have grown up in the same life! Like you, looking at what I had done convinced me the judgments of others were wrong. And refusing to be offended even if someone means offense is a strength that completely undermines the intent to offend. Good for you! I hope you have kids to pass this wisdom on to…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You must have been a smart little cookie to not believe the lies told about you when you were young.
    I found that a few of these had clung to me as I entered adulthood, so I renounced them later on. A whole lotta healing happened in the wake.
    So yeah, we can’t take ourselves too seriously, but we can tune in to The Most High and live joyfully through just about anything.
    Your sunniness really does come across in your writing btw. Now I know why.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t know if I was smart, I thought I should just process things in a logical way and I stubbornly refused to believe I was stupid or unimportant. Thinking back, maybe I was shielded, more than anything, words couldn’t touch me and still can’t. You can imagine, there’s pretty much nothing that someone could say to get me offended :). And positivity is part of it. I dismiss bad things with laughter. If the devil ever fought me with anything, it was to steal my joy…he knows that’s my strength. Lucky for me, I also know it. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, thinking this way is smart. Not all have the presence of mind to think this clearly and rationally through life.
        Consider your natural self blessed. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Good on you, for not taking those ugly lies in! We are all beautiful and perfect just the way we are, because that’s how we were created.
    This is such a great post, and a good reminder for a lot of people out there. If we’re not kind to ourselves, how can we expect others to be?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! πŸ˜€ I didn’t think this would have such a big impact, but it seems everyone finds a helpful word in it. And you’re right, I actually know people who allow unkind treatments just because they don’t think they deserve better.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m sorry to hear you grew up with people telling you that you were stupid… That’s really not nice 😦 But thankfully you seem to be a very positive person!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, you’re kind :). I have risen above that a long time ago and I have forgiven them, it’s all in the past now. I am also thankful that I was able to keep the right focus, there are so many people who struggle with it.

      Liked by 1 person

Say something

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

