Listening – Day 1

Welcome!

This is the first day of my Listening series. Keep reading. Stop telling yourself that you don’t like classical music or that you don’t understand it and give it a chance!

If this were my music class, we would be listening with a music sheet in front of us and you’d have to follow technical demands :D. We’ll stick to enjoying the music ;).

All music tells a story and all music has a message. Every classical recommendation will contain more than one accompanying feeling and I want you to be aware of this while listening and note down your feelings.

Follow these steps:

  1. ISOLATION – Listening happens in complete silence, no distractions, no talking, just music. You might need to even close your eyes in order to fully focus.
  2. EXPECTATION – Expect the music to transmit something and be ready to receive it.
  3. OBSERVATION – While listening, observe how the music evolves and changes and write down the words that it inspires you to think of with every change.

We’re starting this classical journey with the father of music:

JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH

I have my own notes, so let’s see if they’re matching.

Let me know in the comments what was the emotion progression you discovered. πŸ™‚

P.S. I changed my blog theme over the weekend, if you can, please have a look at the home page to tell me what you think. Of course, starting now, all my posts will have a different aspect to go with this theme. My intention was to find a simpler theme that looks more serious…I felt like the last theme was starting to look a little like a fairy’s blog (Libretto).

14 thoughts on “Listening – Day 1

Add yours

  1. Admittedly, I haven’t listened to classical music in the past, but I’m open to new (to me) things. Unfortunately, I couldn’t pause to just enjoy the music, but I listened while getting ready. It was very relaxing and peaceful .. It helped take the rushed feeling out of the process of Grady ready to go somewhere. Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know what you mean, but it’s great that you managed to listen to it anyway and I’m glad you liked it. Thank you for dropping by and for showing interest, I hope you’ll have the chance to listen to the rest of the links and find a favourite :).

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Bach is one of my favorite. Love this. I got sorrow, love, hope, and happiness all from it. It was so touching, like the music was literally reaching out to me.
    Also, I like the new look of your blog. It’s clean looking.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, Angie! I see people like classical music around here, if I only knew that from the start :). Ok, I can totally see why you got sorrow but also happiness…it’s just that kind of music! πŸ™‚ I got peaceful, exaltation and patience too…because of that ongoing pace.
      Thank you so much for joining me, I like this! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Bach, Vivaldi, and Beethoven were the first introduced to me in this very same way. This is how I came to love Classical music! Great way to share it with others and create a newfound love for it in others who have not taken the time to listen! πŸ™‚

        Like

Say something

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

