Freedom

This is powerful! You gotta read this.

It’s just what we need to celebrate on JazzDay! 🙂

Daisy in the Willows

“The worst thing about that kind of prejudice… is that while you feel hurt and angry and all the rest of it, it feeds you self-doubt. You start thinking, perhaps I am not good enough” -NINA SIMONE –

Never  knew why I connected so much with this woman’s voice and songs until now.

We seemingly have nothing in common- she was a trained classical pianist, jazz and soul singer, and a proud African  American  lady ,actively a  part of the  American civil rights movement.

She hung out Martin Luther King! She was born in the 1930’s.

I ,on the other hand was born and grew up in South Africa. I am white. I as born in the early 1980’s when the apartheid regime was crumbling. The civil war moment was Huge.

I watched  the documentary about her life on Netflix  and I identified with this  wild spirit within her.  A…

View original post 1,181 more words

One thought on “Freedom

Add yours

  1. I have one word and that word is powerful…I have some more, thought provoking, inspirational, self re-evaluation, humbling. Wonderful of you to put this up Daisy. Thank you 💐

    Liked by 1 person

Say something

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

