High School Jazz Band

Meet Niki! She is a music teacher in New York and she’s sharing her journey with jazz!

Thank you for joining us! 😀

For more jazz stories, visit the International Jazz Day Blogging Event HERE and feel free to join us!

A Texan's View of Upstate New York

jazz-appreciation-award

When I was in high school I played saxophone. I started at the end of my 8th grade year so that I would have something to march with come high school. It’s a bit hard to march with a bassoon.

Every year, both semesters, there would be a jazz band. A few alto saxophones, a tenor sax or 2, a bari sax, about 4 trombones, the same for trumpets, and a drum set, keyboard player, and a guitar to 2. One year there was a tuba doing trombone parts and another year a clarinet player doing tenor sax parts.

So, my freshman year I decided to join, because I already loved jazz music, so why not enjoy playing it as well? I played all 4 years of high school. The first 2 years I played on alto, which is also what I did marching band with. But the second 2…

View original post 150 more words

Say something

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

