Yes, I Am!

The Liebster Award is a new-comer award given by bloggers to other bloggers, it creates a great platform for new blogs to be discovered and build communications. The best thing about this award is, it creates a lot of encouragement and support within our blogging community.

liebster

So honoured to have been considered for this award. All you need to know is that Liebster means sweetest, kindest, nicest, dearest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, and welcome. Germans sure know how to get the best use out of one single word :). I’ll take it!

I was nominated by Faye, from Sincerely, Faye. We only connected recently, but I started following her blog because I love her honesty and the openness with which she shares her experiences and I know that somewhere down the road I’m going to get a really wise advice or even be inspired by her thoughts. And I am so glad that she chose me. Thank you, Faye!

Liebster Award Rules:

  • Thank your nominator.
  • Share the award on your blog.
  • Answer the 10 questions asked to you.
  • Ask 10 questions to 10 new nominees (who have less than 300 followers).
  • Notify them via social media.

My 10 answers:

  1. Who is your favorite author? Well, I don’t read a lot (GASP!), but when I do, it has to be really good to keep me from yawning and it has to be strong enough to produce a change in me, so I’d have to say one of my favourite authors is Rick Warren. I was 18 years-old when I read Purpose Driven Life. It has changed me.
  2. How did you decide on your blog name? I have no idea. It was a quick decision, a no-brainer, I just wanted a name to describe me and my work (I hardly discern one from the other) and emphasise the fact that it influences every area of my life, hence Music Teacher Lifestyle.
  3. If you listen to music while blogging, what genre is your muse? No way, I can’t listen to any music while trying to write words…If I listen to music that has lyrics, I’ll start to sing-along, if it’s only instrumental, I’ll start humming…I’d be getting nowhere.
  4. Who is your biggest blog fan? One of my good friends, a former work mate who is also a teacher and a mother. She often shares my posts and that makes me so proud! Even if she were my only reader, I’d keep writing to inspire her.
  5. Why did you decide to blog? Frustration. Many teaching aspects (particularly in Romania and particularly teaching music) can bring you down and I wanted to make myself heard and reach out, honestly to get encouragement and maybe even raise awareness.
  6. What is your best piece of advice to anyone considering blogging? Schedule! Blogging can take so much of your time if you let it, so you should create a writing schedule, a reading and commenting schedule and stick to it. Don’t forget to connect with your real fans. Make a schedule for that too, if you have to!
  7. What is your goal for your blog in 2016? My only goal right now is to keep writing and keep being heard. I’m not sure what will come next, I’m taking one step at a time.
  8. What is your favorite blog to read (besides your own)? Seeds 4 Life – So inspirational!
  9. What is your favorite movie? Oh, so many movies! But I mostly enjoy comedies, like Bridesmaids, and I’m a sucker for a good Christmas comedy, like Surviving Christmas or Just Friends. Anything that makes me laugh and that ends well.
  10. If you could travel anywhere, where would you travel? This is a good one…well, if I could travel anywhere, I WOULD TRAVEL ANYWHERE :)), but no hiking, please. Anywhere I can rest, drink , eat and also, drink. 😉

THE NOMINATIONS FOR BEST NEW BLOGS ARE:

The Road to There

Modern Diversity

Music & Words

Pointless & Prosaic

Miss Kiss Volunteers

Greg Shaw

Wright Words

Keeping Up With Britt

Soul Palette

Greater Than Gravity

And these are my 10 questions for you:

  1. If you had the awesome opportunity to live anywhere else than where you are now, where would you want to live and why?
  2. What kind of music do you like to listen to – your favourite singer/composer?
  3. What is your favourite blog to read?
  4. What’s your favourite activity on a weekend?
  5. What is you favourite book?
  6. Why did you decide to blog?
  7. What is your favourite movie?
  8. If you could give only one wise advice to a 15 year-old, what would it be?
  9. Who is your best friend and what are his/her biggest qualities?
  10. How long did it take you to finish this post?

ENJOY!

 

28 thoughts on “Yes, I Am!

Add yours

  1. Hi! Totally random. Wondering if you recommend any great English to Romanian books. Or any great children’s book for teaching music. Trying to start getting my materials organized for teaching!
    Thank you!
    Katrina

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, this is unfortunate, I have only taught in international schools so everything was pretty much in English, and because my basic training was composition, not teaching songs I didn’t bother to learn anything, I just went ahead and wrote new songs :D. Someday I’ll publish that collection, kids love it (and you don’t want to learn those Romanian songs…they are old and weird). But please give me some more details, maybe I can still help you out: what are the kids’ ages? Do you really want to teach them songs in Romanian? You could just go ahead and teach them in English, whatever you know…anything. Will you have Romanian coordinators in this camp? If I know more I can give you some links and some ideas, but there’s one thing that you gotta remember you won’t find in Romania: RESOURCES.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m interested in any great books that may help me understand the Romanian language more. I have a couple guide books but they only provide basic phrases. The kids ages will be a really wide range between babies and teenagers. I’m absolutely planning on teaching them some english songs! I will have coordinators working with me to help translate and to just be a source of support if I happen to need it. I’m expecting there to be a language barrier with the younger children, but I’ve been told the students in secondary school speak English well! 🙂 This book of songs you have sounds so great! I really do hope you consider publishing it one day! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Yes, I say stick with the English songs. Why not include some pop hits like…Pharell’s “Happy”, they would love karaoke. And it’s true, kids start learning English really fast and really soon here because everything on tv has written translation so they catch the language by ear. You gotta let me know when you visit Bucharest, I’d love to take you out for a pizza or just a good clean jazz concert. This is me: https://www.facebook.com/IoanaAndreea.Boanca

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations on the nomination and thank you for selecting me, I appreciate it! I’ve already scheduled my posts until Thursday but at least I’ll have time to select 10 such blogs for Friday! I’m sure it’ll take me a while 😊

    Liked by 1 person

          1. Yes. It takes a lot of self reflection. By the way. This is a random question but- I’m with my niece, she wants me to ask you if she can learn to play piano by ear.

            Liked by 1 person

            1. Yes, I guess so…many people learn instruments by ear. I wouldn’t know how to teach it though, cause I wasn’t taught that way and I know nothing about the process, but it can be done, and quite nicely also. Still, to stimulate the brain and enhance the experience, I recommend learning notation also. It adds an extra difficulty level and it’s challenging, and that’s what we want to stir up in a child – creativity, responsibility and discipline.

              Like

  3. Thank you so much for this nomination! I am beyond excited! I admire you and your blog so much and I’m thrilled to share this nomination with other fantastic bloggers!! 🙂
    -Katrina

    Liked by 1 person

Say something

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

