What About Me?

FOR ME, TEACHING IS NOT AS MUCH ABOUT transmitting information and knowledge as it is about introducing students to my universe. While teaching I allow kids to see into my heart and into my mind and I’m hoping they like what they see and will want to be a part of it. I feel so strongly about this. I even quit my job because of this. I had to reevaluate things and decide what my path was gonna be.

What is most important to me? Honesty. To be myself, the best version of myself. I can’t reach my best version when I am forced to repress myself. I can’t allow kids to see into my heart if it’s pretending and suffering, if it’s not driven by passion, because you can’t teach what you know, you can only teach what you are. And I refuse to show children that it’s ok to compromise your principles or it’s ok to settle for less than you should have. And when I say less than you should have, I am talking about opportunities to change the world for the better.

So I must grow and evolve not only for my own benefit but also for the children I teach. This should be the main objective of all the lessons: the kids must learn and want to reach their best self and use/create the opportunities to change their world for the better.

4 thoughts on “What About Me?

Add yours

Say something

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

